Site Title Image

Family and Consumer Science Department


All about the Family and Consumer Science Department


The Family and Consumer Science department consists of 6 teachers.  This department offers a diverse curriculum centered around the family and careers.  Our classes help prepare young adults for the dual role of family member and wage earner. Curriculum centers around the development of a healthy lifestyle.  We offer career-centered training in early childhood, education, hospitality, Cosmetology and culinary arts.


Teachers


 

FCS Teachers

 

Tamara Mitchell

 

tamara.mitchell@nisd.net

 

School-Age Parenting
Lifetime, Nutrition and Wellness 

Principles of Hospitality
Dollars and Sense
            
Jan Henderson

 

jan.henderson@nisd.net 

Instructional Practices

Fashion Design
FCS Career Preparation (Co-Op)

Shawna Dixon

 

shawna.dixon@nisd.net

 

 Food Production, Management and Services I
                              (Culinary Arts 1)

Food Production, Management and Services II
                              (Culinary Arts 2)             

Culinary Internship


Esther Puente

 

esther.puente@nisd.net


Personal and Family Development

Textiles Design and Apparel 
           

Ruth Wolff

 

ruth.wolff@nisd.net

 

Child Development
Child Guidance 1 & 2

 

Holly Yates

 

holly.yates@nisd.net

 

Cosmetology  I and II 



Our Favortite Links

Site Description
AchieveTexas which is a new education initiative designed to prepare all students for a lifetime of success. It allows ALL students to achieve excellence by preparing them for secondary and postsecondary opportunities, career preparation and advancement, meaningful work, and active citizenship.
FCCLA is a national career and technical student organization for young men and women in family and consumer sciences education in public and private school through grade 12.
This site provides the TEKS for Family and Consumer Science Courses offered at Jay.
The primary governmental job training and job search program for the State of Texas.


fcs logo